What I learned today: Juliet is a Jezebel…

Image

…in the eyes of a priest at a church in central Vienna. He wasn’t too happy about her bare shoulders; I hope we don’t run into him when we’re filming our video because he’ll probably find a lot of other problems with our behavior at that point. 

Regardless, Die Madels went on an excursion with Kathy to the aforementioned priest’s church (the exact name is escaping me), Peterskirche, the Plague Column, and Julius Meinl. I have to say, I was most excited by Julius Meinl; however, all of our stops were enlightening and (as whenever you’re surrounded with funny, enjoyable folks) memorable. Above is a picture of the church where we got in trouble. The Virgin Mary statue on the altar is famous because it has an ax stuck in the wood on its right side. The story is that Protestants tried to destroy the statue, but were unable to (due to divine intervention, etc.), so the Catholics kept the assailed statue to remember the power of God and faith. Note: I do not think that the ax that is currently stuck in the statue is an original…

Leave a comment