Correspondence

Correspondence

Today we went to the Leopold Museum; I loved it. Their Klimt exhibit was, in my opinion, better than the Belvedere’s. The epistolary component of the exhibit was engaging and (gasp!) fun. I glanced at one of the letters, and it read: “Severely hung-over ā€“ but hopefully it will be beneficial.” Their exhibit gave a much clearer picture of Klimt as the man, not just the grand artist. Also, it was an incredible experience looking at Klimt’s “Law,” “Medicine,” and “Philosophy” in their original dimensions (even if they were just copies).

I also enjoyed the Leopold because I’ve grown fond of Shiele’s work while I’ve been in Vienna. I like his work – for the same reason why I like da Vinci’s paintings – because he understands the physiology and anatomy of the human body. Therefore, the bodies that he sketches and paints are very realistic in terms of look, proportion, and contortion. Attached is one of my favorites at the Leopold: “The Embrace.”

German word of the day:

German word: plaudern
English translation: to chat
Part of speech: verb

Leave a comment